Excellence in Research Award 2005

Prof. V.D.Sharma has been selected for "Prof. S. C. Bhattacharya Excellence Award in Pure Sciences". The award will be given by Dr. K. Kasturirangan, M.P. (Rajya Sabha) and Director, NIAS, Bangalore, on the Foundation day of our Institute (10th March).

About the Award:
Mr. Rakesh Mathur, an alumnus of IIT Bombay has created an endowment for instituting two awards in recognition of quality research work conducted by our institute faculty/scientists, and staff in the area of science and engineering. These awards aim to recognize quality research work, which displays originality, hard work, scholarship, and impact on the community of researchers.

The two awards for excellence in research have been instituted in honour of two former Professors of the institute and carry a cash incentive of Rs.1.5 Lakhs each:

  • Prof. S.C. Bhattacharya Excellence Award in Pure Sciences
  • Prof. H.H. Mathur Excellence Award in Applied Sciences
This is a one time award to a faculty member/scientist, based on the research work undertaken at IIT Bombay in the last ten years. There is no age bar for these awards. The nomination of a faculty member/scientist can be made by any full professor of the Institute. A search cum selection committee, chaired by Director, IIT Bombay, with three external experts, would review the nominations for the selection of these awards.