FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR PAPERS

International Conference on

Statistics, Combinatorics and Related Areas

and the Seventh International Conference of the Forum for Interdisciplinary Mathematics

December 19-21, 2000

Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai-400 076, INDIA

Cosponsor: University of South Alabama, Mobile, Alabama, USA

Conveners

Satya Narayan Mishra, President of the Forum, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of South Alabama, Mobile, Alabama, 36688-0002 USA; PH: +1-334-461-1642 Fax +1- 334- 460-7969; mishra@mathstat.usouthal.edu

Sanjeev Sabnis, Chair, Local Organizing Committee, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai-400 076, INDIA, PH: +91-22 -572-2545 Ext 7451/7474, Fax: +91-22-572-3480, svs@math.iitb.ac.in

International Organizing Committee

B. C. Arnold (USA, barnold@ucrac1.ucr.edu), M.C.Bhattacharjee (USA,mabhat@m.njit.edu), Massimo Campanino (Italy, campanin@unibo.it), Y. P. Chaubey (Canada, ychaubey@hotmail.com ), D. Stephen Coad (U.K., D.S.Coad@sussex.ac.uk) , Carlos Coelho (Portugal, coelho@madpet.isa.utl.pt), R.C.Dahiya (USA,rdahiya@odu.edu), Y. Fujikoshi (Japan, fuji@math.sci.hiroshima-u.ac.jp), Chandra Gulati (Australia, cmg@uow.edu.au ), S. S. Gupta (USA, sgupta@stat.purdue.edu) Mikhail Malyutov (USA, mmltv@usa.net ), R. N. Rattihali (India, uucp@sumath.ac.in), B.D.Sharma(India,bhudev_sharma@yahoo.com), Kunio Shimizu(Japan, shmizu@bamboo.stat.math.keio.ac.jp), Rakesh Shukla (USA, rakesh.shukla@uc.edu), S. N. Singh (South Africa, singh@getafix.utr.ac.za), Ajit Tamhane ( USA, ajit@iems.nwu.edu ), Ram Tiwari (USA, rtiwari@email.uncc.edu )

Local Organizing Committee

M. C. Joshi (INDIA, mcj@math.iitb.ac.in), I. K. Rana (INDIA, ikr@math.iitb.ac.in), A. Subramanyam (as@math.iitb.ac.in), M.K.Srinivasan (mks@math.iitb.ac.in), S.S. Sane(sane@mathbu.ac.in ) , U. .J. Dixit (ujdixit@hotmail.com).

Symposia & Organizers

Space-Time Stochastic Processes: J. M. Angulo (Granada, Spain jmangulo@ugr.es), Ranked Set Sampling : D.Bhoj, (Rutgers U, USA, dbhoj@crab.rutgers.edu) , Resampling : Arup Bose ( ISI Calcutta, India, abose@stat.purdue.edu), Percolation and Spatial Processes: Massimo Campanino (University of Bologna, Italy, campanin@unibo.it), Near-Exact Distributions: Carlos Coelho (Lisbon Technical University, Portugal, coelho@madpet.isa.utl.pt), Goodness-of-Fit and Various Statistical Applications: Chandra Gulati ( University of Wollongong, Australia, cmg@uow.edu.au), Biostatistics : Chitra Lele (Pfizer Ltd., Mumbai , India, lelec@pfizer.com ), (i) Multiple Object Tracking (ii) Statistics in Genomics and Drug Discovery: M. Malyutov (Northeastern U. USA, mmltv@usa.net), Nonparametric Functional Estimation: A. Subramanyam (IIT Bombay, India, as@math.iitb.ac.in), Combinatorics : S. S. Sane (Mumbai University, India, sane@mathbu.ac.in), Environmental Statistics: Arun Sinha (Patna U., India arunkrsinha@yahoo.com), Reliability and Life Testing : B.K.Sinha (ISI Calcutta, India, bksinha@www.isical.ac.in), Sampling Techniques: L.N.Upadhyaya (Indian School of Mines, India, l_n_upadhyaya@hotmail.com), Directional Data : Ashish Sengupta (ISI Calcutta, India, ashis@www.isical.ac.in), Survival Analysis: Anup Dewanji (ISI Calcutta, India, adewanji@isical.ac.in), Multivariate Model Selection: Ryuei Nishii (Hiroshima University, Japan, nishii@mis.hiroshima-u.ac.jp)

Registration and Abstract Deadlines

 

 

REGISTRATION FORM

International Conference on

Statistics, Combinatorics and Related Areas

and the Seventh International Conference of the Forum for Interdisciplinary Mathematics

December 19-21, 2000

Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai 400 076, INDIA

Cosponsor: University of South Alabama, Mobile, Alabama, USA

Name___________________________________________________________________________

(First) (Middle Initial) (Last)

Affiliation_________________________________________________________________________

Mailing Address __

Phone(s) ( )..........-.................(Office) ( )............-..................(Home)

Fax: ( ).........-.................. E-mail:

Arrival (In Bombay) Date/ Time................................................ Carrier/Flight #.........................

Departure: Date/ Time.....................................

AMOUNT ENCLOSED:

1. Registration fee: ................................

US $125 regular, $75 student (on or before October 15, 2000, add $25 after that).

(Registration fee covers breakfasts, lunches and dinner for December 19-21)

2. Accommodation: ................................

The Leela: Call directly, PH: +91-022-836-3636,), Kumaria Presidency: Call Directly, PH: +91-22-835-2601 (Fax: +91-22-837-3850 or e-mail: kumaria@bol.net.in ) US $51 (Single) and $57 (double), The Residence: Call Directly, PH: +91-22-852-3100 (Fax: + 91-22-852-1195): US $92 (for Single Bedroom) and US $ 155 (Double). The first two hotels are in the area of an International Airport and they are about 13-15 kilometers from IIT-Bombay campus. The third hotel is approximately 20-23 Kilometers from the airport. However, it is about 5 kilometers from IIT-Bombay campus

For online hotel reservations visit www.india-hotels.net/HOTELS/WEST_INDIA/Mumbai/mumbai.html

International participants: If you are experiencing difficulties with the hotel reservation and wishing a reasonable accommodation (in one of the hotels), please communicate with chair of LOC on hotel reservation. LOC will make a reservation at one of the desired hotels upon receipt of the payment.

3. Local sight seeing tours can be arranged through travel agent at the time of the conference.

Total amount enclosed: .......................... (All Demand Drafts and Banker’s cheques (Check) should be in US dollars. No personal cheques please.) Cheque should be made payable to ‘International Conference on Statistics, Combinatorics and Related Areas-IIT-Bombay

Please send completed registration form, check and a copy of the abstract to:

Sanjeev Sabnis, Chair, Local Organizing Committee, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai-400 076, INDIA, PH: +91-22-572-2545 Ext 7451/7474, Fax: +91-22-572-3480, svs@math.iitb.ac.in

Special Request: While sending your plain-text electronic version of the ABSTRACT to Sanjeev Sabnis at IIT-Bombay, please copy it to Satya Mishra at mishra@mathstat.usouthal.edu. Thank you.

Visit our conference Web-site for further details: http://www.mathstat.usouthal.edu/statistics/iitb_conf.html