## INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY BOMBAY OFFICE OF THE DEAN (R&D)

27th October, 2016

Dear Colleagues,

Sub.: Announcement of IRCC Research Awards 2015

We are pleased to announce the IRCC Research Awards for the Year 2015. The details are given below. We would like to thank the Award committee, appointed by the Director, for their efforts in selecting the awardees.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees.

With kind regards,

Prof. Petety V. Balaji and Prof. Anil M. Kulkarni Dean (R&D) and Associate Dean (R&D) IIT Bombay. 27<sup>th</sup> October. 2016.

## **IIT BOMBAY RESEARCH AWARDS FOR THE YEAR 2015**

- A. RESEARCH PUBLICATION AWARD for the year 2015 is conferred on the following FIVE faculty members for their research works:
- Prof. Mahesh S. Tirumkudulu, Department of Chemical Engineering
   Research theme title: Cracking in drying colloidal dispersions
   Theme contributors (Prof. & Others): Mahesh S. Tirumkudulu, William B Russel (Princeton University), D.N. Singh, Karnail B Singh, Girish Deoghare, Laxman R. Bhosale, Arijit Sarkar, VV Ranganath, T.Venugopal, Rajarshi Sengupta and Shalini Tripathi
- Prof. Debabrata Maiti, Department of Chemistry
   Research theme title: Stereoselective Nitration of Olefins
   Theme contributors (Prof. & Others): D.Maity, Soham, Togati, Naveen, Sharma, Upendra,
   Manna, Srimanta, Rana, Sujoy, Mallick and Arijit
- 3. Prof. Chebrolu Pulla Rao, Department of Chemistry
  Research theme title: Calixarenes and Carbohydrates as ion and molecular sensors
  Theme contributors (Prof. & Others): C.P. Rao and several students over 10 years
- 4. **Prof. Sagar Mitra**, Department of Energy Science and Engineering Research theme title: Metal ion battery Theme contributors (*Prof. & Others*): Sagar Mitra, Uttam Kumar Sen, Tuhin Sahu, Sudeep Sarkar, Alok Mani Tripathi, Ananta Sarkar and Pavan Veluri
- Prof. (Ms.) P. Ramadevi, Department of Physics
   Research theme title: Quantum Racah coefficients, Chern-Simons field theory invariants & topological strings
   Theme contributors (Prof. & Others): P. Ramadevi, Dr. Zodinmawia and Satoshi Nawata

- **B. IMPACTFUL RESEARCH AWARD for the year 2015** is conferred on the following TWO faculty members for their research works:
  - 1. Prof. (Ms.) Maryam Shojaei, Department of Electrical Engineering Research Area: Sensors and Healthcare Devices
  - 2. Prof. V. S. Raja, Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science Research Area: Corrosion Protection
- C. RESEARCH DISSEMINATION AWARD for the year 2015 is conferred on the following TWO review/monograph:
  - Organoselenium Chemistry: Role of Intramolecular Interactions, Chemical Reviews, 2010, 110, (7) pp 4357–4416.
     Harkesh B. Singh (Principal Author), Department of Chemistry.
  - 2. Monograph title: Quasilinear Hyperbolic Systems, Compressible Flows, and Waves, CRC Press, 2010.
    - Prof. Vishnu D. Sharma, Department of Mathematics
- D. EARLY RESEARCH ACHIEVER AWARD for the year 2015 is conferred on the following THREE faculty members:
  - 1. Prof. Supreet Saini, Department of Chemical Engineering
  - 2. Prof. Srikanth Srinivasan, Department of Mathematics
  - 3. Prof. Dinesh Kabra, Department of Physics

Each award will consist of a citation and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/- (Rupees Fifty Thousands only). The cash prize will be shared among the researchers affiliated with IIT Bombay. In addition, the awardees (Principal Author) will be invited to submit a research proposal to IRCC for possible funding of up to Rs.5,00,000/- (Rupees Five Lakhs only).

The RESEARCH PUBLICATION AWARD, IMPACTFUL RESEARCH AWARD and RESEARCH DISSEMINATION AWARD are selected based on the citations, Journal impact factor, quality of the study and its impact with outside entity.

The EARLY RESEARCH ACHIEVER AWARD is based on curriculum vitae and self appraisals, research projects and publication records, students under their supervision, and discussions within the committee.

The awards would be conferred at the National Education Day function scheduled to be held at the Institute on 11<sup>th</sup> November, 2016.

We will be organising an Institute Award lecture series during the first week of November, 2016 where the awardees will present their work to the Institute community.

\_\_\_\_\_